Printed Burlap Signs

This is something I found on Pinterest (site I saw it on: http://www.domestically-speaking.com/2010/09/burlap-laundry-signhow-to.html). It’s using your home printer to make an image on burlap, then pinning it to foam poster board, and framing it. Genius, right?

Printed burlap sign

I followed the directions on Domestically Speaking, except that I could not find freezer paper (and, no, wax paper or parchment paper will not work–I tried), so instead I used a very light coat of spray adhesive on regular copy paper and ran it through the printer that way. I am providing both sets of directions for printing.

What you will need:

  • Burlap
  • Printer
  • Iron
  • Foam poster board
  • Freezer paper ~ OR ~ copy paper & spray adhesive
  • Empty frame
  • Various bits for decorations (I used upholstery tacks and fabric rosettes)

What to do:

  1. Iron your burlap so that it is completely flat.
  2. Place the waxy, shiny side of the freezer paper against the burlap, and using a dry iron, press it on. It should stick. (I say should because I have not tried this as I could not find freezer paper). ~ OR ~ Spray a very light coat of spray adhesive onto a sheet of copy paper. Lay the ironed burlap over it, making sure it stays smooth and flat. Trim the burlap to fit the paper if you have not already done so. Let it sit for a few minutes before printing.
  3. Create your image. Keep in mind simpler fonts and images will show up better than ornate fonts or detailed images (a lesson I learned the hard way). Make sure your image is the correct size for your frame.
  4. Print the image onto the burlap. Trim to size and remove from the paper. It should peel right off whether you used freezer paper or copy paper.
  5. Trim the foam board to fit into the frame if you have not already done so. You will probably not be able to keep the glass in the frame. Place the printed burlap on the foam board and adhere it as desired (spray adhesive, upholstery tacks, whatever you decide).
  6. Insert into frame.
  7. Apply any desired decorations and hang!

Tips & Variations:

  • If you use fabric rosettes like I did, keep in mind you will need to offset the weight of them so that the frame will hang level. You could glue a little piece of a magnet strip to the back opposite corner, or whatever else is thin and weighs little. I ended up using a plastic knife! Whatever works, right?
  • You could cover the foam board in scrapbook paper or fabric before adhering the burlap.
  • Print text or images! Get creative!
  • You can pull a couple of loose threads on the sides of the burlap to give it a ragged edge.
4 comments on “Printed Burlap Signs

  1. Catherine says:

    Thank you. I just tried wax paper over and over…did not know freezer paper and wax paper were not the same. But the wax paper would not work. I think I will try the spray. My son’s wedding will be at a barn and they are using burlap, mason jars, etc. So this opens many doors to deco with burlap. Thank you again.

    • Daina says:

      You’re welcome, and congratulations on your son’s wedding. Have you checked out all the burlap, mason jar, etc. DIY decorations on Pinterest? There are a ton, and they are all so cute!

  2. kelly says:

    Hi I tried the spray and just printer paper and Ironed it as smooth as I could get it and it would always cause a paper jam. Im gonna try the freezer paper, HOPE it works.
    Kelly

    • Daina says:

      I’m sorry that wouldn’t work for you! Different printers can handle different things, I guess. Oddly enough, mine didn’t jam with the burlap, but jammed when I printed on tissue paper attached to printer paper! It took some trial-and-error and lots of tries, but I finally got the tissue paper to work. Hopefully the freezer paper trick will work for you. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

